I am trying my bestest not to let this blog lapse into disrepair while I struggle to become a surgeon.  So far so good?  Unfortunately, most of what I have to talk about involves work, which is not fun at all for most people.  (Maybe for one.  You know who you are…)

So here’s something new!  Yesterday, Husband and I tried our hands (legs?) at road biking.  As I’ve gotten older, I’ve found that I start disliking doing new things- mostly out of fear: fear that I’ll hurt myself, and possibly worse, fear of embarrassing myself.  There’s something a little undignified but adventurous and carefree about trying new things, and as the “investments” that I’ve put in myself keep piling up, I’ve found myself shying away from indignity and staying the safe known route.

And so I’m getting old.

So Husband’s been on me to try some sort of biking since we’ve moved to Utah.  People here seem to have a “winter sport” as well as a “summer sport.”  I really only have a winter sport- downhill skiing and snowboarding.  So following a few weeks (at least) of cajoling and bargaining, Husband got me out in Park City to try out road biking.  Let me tell you, as I struggled to just get ON the bike, I kept thinking, “Oh God, what have I gotten myself into….?”

But biked we did!  And it was fun!  Road biking is SO much better than mountain biking. (Although some may argue with this, that is my final opinion on the matter.)  Hills are intimidating, but at least you don’t feel like you’re fighting gravity times two (or four, or ten) in order to get up a hill.  On a road bike, I think I could possibly even get to work!

So, that was my big adventure for the weekend.  Now I return to night float again at the Pediatric Hospital- and maybe this time I’ll get some learning in.

A

