At our new condo complex, our door opens up onto a common hallway.  We began running into new neighbors immediately, as people began hearing the whole ruckus associated with moving in the hallway.  (That and moving inherently involves entering and exiting your unit constantly, increasing the probability that you’ll run into somebody else sooner or later.)

I grew up never really knowing who my neighbors were.  In our “old house”- what we now call the house that my sister and I grew up in, our neighbors for a while were two senior women living alone and an older couple across the street.  When I was in high school, a family moved across the street whose son also attended my private high school.  We stomped in different crowds however, he the popular jockish crowd and I the Asian and nerdy crowd, and I never really got to know him well.  They didn’t even realize that we had moved until the moving van for the family moving in arrived.

Then in college, I got to know my neighbors my freshman year, as all freshmen do, but afterwards, had my own group of friends and rarely bothered to associate with the people who lived near me.  In medical school, I lived in apartments, but never met any of the people who lived next to me.  Once I borrowed an egg (well, more like took) from my neighbor across the hall, but that was the one and only time I ever interacted with him.

So, it’s super weird for me, moving to a new place and all of a sudden knowing who my neighbors are.  Is this normal for most people?  Across the hall is a 2nd year anesthesia resident named T, down a ways is a family with 20 month old twins, on our left is a family with a 2 year old, and on the right is an older lady who can get particular about people following the rules.  One of our neighbors helped us move a desk in from the car, and we had movie night tonight next door.

The two of the families that we joined for movie night- we’re pretty sure they’re LDS.  In Utah, nobody says “Mormon.”  Maybe the term is passe.  Or really, I think that LDS just has fewer bad connotations for somebody unfamiliar with the term.  They’re super nice and normal and all- great people, really, but I sort of wish we had neighbors with whom we could break open a bottle of wine or a 6-pack of beer and swear around and not be afraid of offending.  Somebody with no kids might be nice too.  Maybe we just haven’t met them yet.

On a completely different note, apparently all these thunderstorms are weird for Salt Lake City.  And tonight, toward the end of Anger Management, it started hailing like nobody’s business.  I felt a little bit better that I wasn’t the only one surprised and ooh-ing and ahh-ing at the weather.

A

