In elementary school, when we learned about how light and sound travel at different speeds, the example of lightning followed by thunder always was brought up.  You could count after the lightning: “one one-thousand, two one-thousand, three one-thousand”- and whatever number you were on when you heard the thunder, that’s how many miles away you were from that lightning strike.

Unfortunately, growing up in California, I never got to use this trick very often.  We saw lightning maybe once every three to four years, sometimes even less frequently.

I’m sitting in bed again, and this time the mattress is off the floor inside a cheap-o IKEA frame.  It’s been a week since we’ve left San Diego.  Right now, it’s pouring rain and there’s lightning and thunder outside.  When I started this post, I only got to “one one-thou–” before I heard the thunder.

Man, this place is a little different.

A

